September 19, 2012

  • Sep
    19

    Self Esteem

    You can't touch it, but it affects how you feel. You can't see it, but it might be there when you look at yourself in the mirror. You can't hear it, but it's there when you talk about yourself or when you think about yourself.

    ~

    What is this important but mysterious thing? It's your self-esteem!

    I think 80% of females struggle with self esteem.
    I think its just something Women in general do
    I seriously thought i was the only person at one point that didnt like them selves.
    I dont like my hair
    I dont like my clothes
    I dont like my weight
     
    Yes material things. But thats how women are. we think if i had nicer clothes, if i lost weight, if i did my hair a different way, then i would be happier.....NO you wouldnt.

    Self-esteem isn't about bragging, it’s about getting to know what you are good at and not so good at. A lot of us think about how much we like other people or things, but don't really think much about whether we like ourselves. We brag on our husbands, kids, friends, parents etc- but what about yourself- ME

     
    I was talking to my friend Faith who was listening to me rant and rave about self esteem, she gave me a scripture and i am thinking i am printing this and putting up on every mirror in my house.
    He brought me out into a spacious place;
    he rescued me because he delighted in me.
    Psalms 18:19
    Jesus has us the way he wants us to be, not the way we want to be.
    Imagine if he said ok, make your self how you want to look- things would be scary.
    He delights in me- he loves me the way i am, he dont need me to do a certain hair style, or wear a certain color or style, HE DELIGHTS in me

    The Lord does not leave his work half done, for having routed the foe he leads out the captive into liberty. He has us created in a image that he can use, he formed us from the dust of the ground.
    We (I)learn to view the uncaused love of God as the cause of all the lovingkindness of which we are the partakers.
     
    But yes, still I question:
    Why do i not look like my friend Faith? ( who by the way is beautiful inside and outside) or any other friend...
    Why can i not seem like i have my life together, I have a husband and a daughter, I need to keep my self together for them. But yet, God delights in me.
    He didnt create us all the same- that would make a boring world- as the quote says " takes all kinds of people to make the world go around"
    Next time you pass a mirror, i challenge you to look in there and say i am beautiful, God made me and their is no one like me, I like me :) Do it, i have been trying to do this for a long time but i never do it, almost like i am to shy to tell myself how "made in God's image i am"-
    We are all beautiful in our own way

Comments (6)

  • God is good and He is altogether lovely.   He loves His own and cherishes them.   He is jealous for them that they would know Him and seek His face.   I think we would better look on Him, and then our view of ourselves as His children would improve.

  • Thank you for this post. I really needed this reminder today, especially since I've been struggling with self-esteem issues lately! Take care my friend and have a fabulously blessed day!

  • Hope you had a good weekend!

  • Hi Terri, loved this post and you are so right. I struggle with self-esteem myself at age 79.

    frank

  • I followed Frank's rec, and loved this post. Tried to Rec it but was not allowed. Thanks for reminding us, that we are built in his image. Sometimes I get lost too.

  • My self esteem seems to have a life of its own.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *